Institute for Water and River Basin Management           -          Aquatic Environmental Engineering

NiddaMan – Sustainable Water Resources Management in the Nidda Catchment Area

  • contact:

    Dipl. - Geoökol. Ramona Wander
    Dipl. - Geoökol. Sara Ziegler

    PD Dr.-Ing. Stephan Fuchs

  • funding:

    Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)

  • startdate:

    05/2015

  • enddate:

    04/2018

Short description

Catchment area of the Nidda river, Source: Regierungspräsidium Darmstadt (2015) and Hessian Agency for the Environment and Geology (HLUG) (2010)

The NiddaMan joint project has the aim to map out a sustainable management strategy for the water resources of the Nidda catchment area in Hesse. As planning instruments, these strategies are to be applied to water resources management practices. Within the NiddaMan project, the IWG conducts the sub-project “Scenario Developing and Modeling”.

The Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) promotes the project in the program “Research for Sustainable Developments” (FONA)  as part of the funding measure “Regional Water Resources Management for Sustainable Water Protection in Germany” (ReWaM)  in the funding priority “Sustainable Water Management” (NaWaM).

The sustainable management of catchment areas and water bodies, and by association the protection of their ecological functions und use, is a basic social task. For the tasks related to this subject, proven tools with different scopes are on hand. For water resources management tasks, which consider major territorial units aside from specific measures and which incorporate different aspects (contaminant influx, quality, ecological response), appropriate tools are still lacking. In the context of the project, a tool that highly considers the requirements of sustainable water resources management and therefore can be applied for integrative planning within water authorities will be developed. This will be achieved through the interdisciplinary collaboration of social scientists, natural scientists (biologists, chemists, geoecologists, hydrologists) and engineering scientists. Based on a large-scale study of substance loads in the Nidda river and its backwaters, using an emission model, the modelling of emissions will further be enhanced and linked up with a water quality model using selected problem areas. The scientific challenge of this project is to link up model components with varying spatial and time-wise scopes.
The sub-project “Scenario Developing and Modeling” adapted by the IWG, aims at modeling emissions at a higher spatial and time-wise resolution using MoRE (Modelling of Regionalized Emissions). The results will be integrated into a water quality model which subsequently allows statements on the danger potential of water segments. In close collaboration with the project partners the implementation of the project goal requires the following working steps:

  • Identifying relevant input paths and spatial pollution focuses of emissions within the Nidda basin using MoRE
  • High-resolution modelling of emissions in test areas which have been identified as critical water segments
  • Modelling of the water quality and derivation of qualitative statements concerning the danger potential of water segments for biota
  • Verification of the scalability and transferability of the approaches developed in the test areas onto the whole catchment area of the Nidda river
  • Modeling of the impacts of implementation of measures and modeling of the impact of scenarios developed for demographic changes, Land-use changes and climate change on emissions and water quality using MoRE

The Goethe-University Frankfurt (coordination), University Tübingen, Technical University Darmstadt, Institute for social-ecological research (ISOE) Frankfurt, the Federal Institute for Hydrology (BfG) Koblenz, Brandt Gerdes Sitzmann Wasserwirtschaft GmbH (BGS) and Unger Ingenieure, both in Darmstadt, are partners in the NiddaMan project. Associated partners are the Hessian State Agency for Environment and Geology (HLUG) Wiesbaden, the Regierungspräsidium Darmstadt (RPDa) and the administrative district Wetterau in Friedberg.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

NiddaMan - Entwicklung eines nachhaltigen Wasserressourcen-Managements am Beispiel des Einzugsgebiets der Nidda

NiddaMan - Entwicklung eines nachhaltigen Wasserressourcen-Managements am Beispiel des Einzugsgebiets der Nidda
Ansprechpartner:

Dipl. - Geoökol. Ramona Wander
Dipl. - Geoökol. Sara Ziegler
Dr.-Ing. Stephan Fuchs

Links:
Förderung:

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)

Starttermin:

05/2015

Endtermin:

04/2018

Kurzbeschreibung

Einzugsgebiet der Nidda
Einzugsgebiet der Nidda, Quelle: Regierungspräsidium Darmstadt (2015) Hochwasserrisikomanagement- plan für das Gewässersystem der Nidda

Das Projekt NiddaMan ist ein Verbundvorhaben mit dem Ziel im Einzugsgebiet der Nidda in Hessen Strategien für ein nachhaltiges Management der Wasserressourcen zu entwickeln. Als Planungsinstrumente sollen diese Strategien in der wasserwirtschaftlichen Praxis zur Anwendung kommen. Innerhalb des NiddaMan-Projekts bearbeitet das IWG das Teilprojekt „Szenarienentwicklung und Modellierung“.

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) fördert das Projekt im Programm „Forschung für nachhaltige Entwicklungen (FONA)“ als Teil der Fördermaßnahme „Regionales Wasserressourcen-Management für den nachhaltigen Gewässerschutz in Deutschland (ReWaM)“ im Förderschwerpunkt „Nachhaltiges Wassermanagement (NaWaM)“.

Die nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung von Wassereinzugsgebieten und Gewässern und damit die Sicherung ihrer ökologischen Funktionen und Nutzbarkeit ist eine gesellschaftliche Grundaufgabe. Für die damit verbundenen Aufgaben liegen bewährte Werkzeuge mit unterschiedlichem Anwendungsbereich vor. Für die Aufgaben der Gewässerbewirtschaftung, die über Einzelmaßnahmen hinaus größere Gebietseinheiten betrachtet und unterschiedliche Aspekte integriert (Stoffeintrag, Güte, ökologische Reaktion) fehlen bisher adäquate Werkzeuge. Im Rahmen des Projektes soll deswegen in interdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit von Sozialwissenschaftlern, Naturwissenschaftlern (Biologen, Chemiker, Geoökologen, Hydrologen) und Ingenieurswissenschaftlern ein Instrument entwickelt werden, welches die Belange nachhaltiger Gewässerbewirtschaftung in hohem Maße berücksichtigt und somit zur integrativen Planung in Wasserbehörden zur Anwendung kommen kann. Ausgehend von einer großräumigen Analyse der stofflichen Belastungen der Nidda und ihrer Nebengewässer mit Hilfe der Stoffeintragsmodellierung soll anhand von Problemgebieten die Stoffeintragsmodellierung weiterentwickelt und mit der Modellierung der chemischen Gewässergüte verknüpft werden. Die wissenschaftliche Herausforderung dieses Vorhabens liegt in der Verknüpfung von Modellbausteinen mit unterschiedlichen räumlichen und zeitlichen Anwendungsbereichen.

Das vom IWG bearbeitete Teilprojekt „Szenarienentwicklung und Modellierung“ hat zum Ziel die Eintragsmodellierung in MoRE (Modelling of Regionalized Emissions) räumlich und zeitlich besser aufzulösen und die Ergebnisse daraus in ein Gewässergütemodell einzuspeisen, welches Aussagen über das Gefährdungspotenzial von Gewässerabschnitten zulässt. Die Umsetzung des Projektziels erfordert in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Projektpartnern die folgenden Arbeitsschritte:

  • Identifizierung relevanter Eintragspfade und räumlicher Belastungsschwerpunkte der Stoffeinträge im Einzugsgebiet der Nidda mit dem Modellsystem MoRE
  • Hoch aufgelöste Stoffeintragsmodellierung in Testgebieten, die zuvor als kritische Gewässerabschnitte identifizierten wurden
  • Modellierung der Gewässergüte und Ableitung von qualitativen Aussagen über das Gefährdungspotenzial von Flussabschnitten für Biota
  • Prüfung der Skalierbarkeit und Übertragbarkeit der in den Testgebieten entwickelten Ansätze auf das gesamte Einzugsgebiet der Nidda
  • Modellierung der Auswirkung der Umsetzung von Maßnahmen und Auswirkung von Szenarien zu demographischer Entwicklung, Landnutzungsänderungen und Klimawandel auf die Stoffeinträge und Gewässergüte in MoRE

Neben dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie sind die Goethe-Universität Frankfurt (Koordination), die Universität Tübingen, die Technische Universität Darmstadt, das Institut für sozial-ökologische Forschung (ISOE) in Frankfurt, die Bundesanstalt für Gewässerkunde(BfG) in Koblenz, die Ingenieurbüros Brandt Gerdes Sitzmann Wasserwirtschaft GmbH (BGS) und Ingenieurbüro Unger Ingenieure in Darmstadt als Partner am NiddaMan-Projekt beteiligt. Assoziierte Partner sind das Hessische Landesamt für Umwelt und Geologie (HLUG) Wiesbaden, das Regierungspräsidium Darmstadt (RPDa) und der Wetteraukreis in Friedberg.